PR Connection #10

The fast food chain Kentucky Fried Chicken or KFC has partnered with Susan G. Komen for the Cure to help their cause in the fight against breast cancer and to raise awareness. This will be a major national campaign at each KFC location around the nation. KFC locations will be selling specially designed pink buckets of grilled and original recipe chicken. For every pink bucket that someone orders from KFC, they will give 50 cents to the foundation during the promotional period which is from April 5 through May 30, 2010. KFC has said they will have a minimum donation of $1 million and a goal to raise more than $8 million. The KFC lids of these special pink buckets will have information on how you can get involved, the lids will also have names of breast cancer survivors and names of those who have lost their battle with breast cancer. This is such a great cause and a very smart move for KFC. The PR that has gone into this partnership has been conducted very well, and thought out perfectly. It shows that KFC wants to give back and it is catchy that they are selling ‘breasts’ and would be donating to ‘breast’ cancer. The program is called buckets for the cure and has a great interactive website where there is a count going on how many buckets have been sold and where you can read and share survivor stories. This program seems like it has wonderful potential for the Silver Anvil Award, and KFC and Susan G. Komen for the cure are doing great things together. I am very excited to see if they can meet their goal of $8 million by the end of May and I encourage everyone to get a bucket at KFC!

April 26, 2010. PR Connections, PRCA 3330.

5 Comments

  1. lowoodward replied:

    This is an odd, but good way to get donations for the cure to breast cancer. The two really didn’t match up in my mind at first, until I gave your blog a read-through. I laughed so hard when you pointed out they are selling (chicken) breasts, for breast (cancer donations). I have been a vegetarian two years, so I have not used technical terms for chicken parts in a while, so that underlying pun wasn’t as obvious to me until I read it, as you pointed it out in your blog. This campaign proves a point that you can team up with other businesses or non-profit organizations that don’t have anything to do with each other, as long as you can be creative and link the two in a recognizable way. Good find!

  2. michellev21 replied:

    I am a huge advocate of corporate social responsibility, also known as corporate philanthropy. As huge corporations make their money by selling to the public, I feel it is a corporation’s duty to invest itself someway back into their public. I sometimes compare this relationship to one that is symbiotic. A corporation needs its public to survive, just as the public needs the corporation to lobby for them. I truly applaud KFC for their corporate philanthropy. They are giving back to their customers by raising money for a prominent cause that effects many of the people within its public. I truly believe every corporation should invest in their social responsibility, especially if they are lobbying for a great cause like KFC.

  3. Michelle’s Semester of Comments « Michellev21's Blog replied:

    […] View Post michellev21 Says: I am a huge advocate of corporate social responsibility, also known as corporate philanthropy. As huge corporations make their money by selling to the public, I feel it is a corporation’s duty to invest itself someway back into their public. I sometimes compare this relationship to one that is symbiotic. A corporation needs its public to survive, just as the public needs the corporation to lobby for them. I truly applaud KFC for their corporate philanthropy. They are giving back to their customers by raising money for a prominent cause that effects many of the people within its public. I truly believe every corporation should invest in their social responsibility, especially if they are lobbying for a great cause like KFC. 20. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)PR Connection: Ghost Blogging-Is it Ethical?The way to hell …… Crumebum CottageMakenzieBlue11 […]

  4. mblubaugh replied:

    I have seen the commercials for this campaign and I think it is such a great idea! I’m not sure who thought of it, but they are very creative. Who would have thought of pairing KFC with Breast Cancer awareness??? The commercials definitely made me want some KFC, so I guess they are working! Everyone loves a great cause, and everyone loves fried chicken! This is fantastic PR for KFC because it gets their name out in the world as more than just a fast-food joint, but as a socially responsible company who cares about the well-being of others. Breast cancer is a big problem and I hope other companies find philanthropies to support. This will DEFINITELY boost their image!
    Thanks!

  5. hkbarnes replied:

    Lauren,
    I have seen commercials for this over the past few weeks and your post was very informative. I agree with you. This was a great PR move for KFC. I rarely eat KFC, but since they are supporting such a great cause I have been considering get some friends together and going to one. I love that you mentioned the Silver Anvil Award because in my Intro to PR class we had to do projects on companies that had been nominated or had won this award. I think KFC would be a great recipient of this award as well.
    Happy Blogging!
    Haley

Leave a comment

Trackback URI